General Information

The theme of this year's retreat is The Evolving University: Embracing Internationalization. Our campus enrolls more international students than any other US public institution, and we have many partnerships and programs around the world. Our strategic plan calls for us to "integrate global perspectives within our learning environment and benefit from the international diversity of our students, faculty, and staff." This retreat will explore ways in which we can create a community of learning where international experiences and opportunities are integrated into our educational mission.

We are pleased to have Dr. Darla Deardorff, our 2015 Faculty Retreat plenary speaker, to lead us in this discussion. Dr. Deardorff is executive director of the Association of International Education Administrators, a national professional organization based at Duke University, and she is also on the faculty of Harvard University's Future of Learning Institute. She has published widely on intercultural competence, global leadership, and international higher education, and she is the editor of The SAGE Handbook of Intercultural Competence.

There will be many opportunities for participants to engage in discussion and to reflect upon the plenary talk. The retreat will offer interactive activities and video vignettes to learn what our colleagues are doing and to explore new activities to implement in your courses. In addition to lunch conversations, there will be a poster session highlighting research projects on teaching and learning. Building on the success of last year's call for proposals, the Teaching Advancement Board will offer twelve grants of $4,000 each for course enhancement. Attendees will be eligible to apply for these grants to help implement ideas inspired by the retreat into their own courses.

Goals of the Retreat

The goals for the Annual Faculty Retreat are to build on our collective knowledge about teaching and learning, to share innovative ideas and approaches, and to promote partnerships within and beyond the campus community. 


This Retreat is co-sponsored by the Office of the Provost and the Center for Innovation in Teaching & Learning.

Special Acknowledgement to:

  • The Faculty Retreat Committee: Michel Bellini, Cheelan Bo-Linn, Adam Fein, Sandy Finley, Alan Hansen, Soo-Yeun Lee, Faye Lesht, Deanna Raineri, Eric Snodgrass, Nicole Tami, and Amy Woods
  • And special thanks to: Robert Baird, Drew MacGregor, Edward Glaser, Jamie Nelson, Neil Feuerhelm, and Susan Muirhead from CITES Academic Technology Services (ATS)