The Retreat will take place from 8:00 am – 2:00 pm on Thursday, March 9, 2017 at the Illini Union in Illini Rooms A, B, C (1st floor). Refreshments and lunch are included.


8:00 – 8:30 am

Coffee and Registration

8:30 – 8:40 am

Michel Bellini, Director of the Center for Innovation in Teaching & Learning (CITL) and Associate Professor in School of Molecular & Cellular Biology

8:40 – 8:50 am

John Wilkin, Interim Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost Designate

8:50 – 9:00 am

Introduction - The Power of Engagement
Cheelan Bo-Linn, Center for Innovation in Teaching & Learning

9:00 – 9:45 am

Collage Journals – A Way to Slow Down to Discover Connections
Jeffrey Moore, Chemistry and Interim Director of the Beckman Institute

9:45 – 10:00 am

Conveying Complex Scientific Concepts Through Artistic Means
Roy Dar, Bioengineering

Q&A with Jeffrey Moore and Roy Dar

10:00 – 10:15 am


10:15 – 10:30 am

Creativity: A Case for Having Ideas and Bringing Them to Be
Bruce Litchfield, Technology Entrepreneur Center

10:30 – 11:15 am

Charging to the End: Applied Principles for Semester-Long Student Engagement
Dawn Bohn, Food Science and Human Nutrition

11:15 – 11:45 am

Bridging the Gap with Student Preceptors
Michael Koerner, Chemistry

Games and Simulations: Traveling Back to the Past to Make a Better Future
Clare Crowston, History

Q&A with Michael Koerner & Clare Crowston

11:45 am – 12:45 pm

12:30 – 12:45 pm

Lunch with Colleagues

Educational Innovation and Opportunities at Illinois
Charles Tucker, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education and Innovation

12:45 – 1:15pm

Exploring Sustainability through Literature
Jamie Jones, English

1:15 – 1:45 pm

Assessments: Helping Students Know What They Know
Jennifer Amos, Bioengineering and Staci Provezis, Office of the Provost

1:45 pm

Michel Bellini, Center for Innovation in Teaching & Learning

Have additional questions?
Come join our Informal Chats with the Faculty Retreat Presenters at the conclusion of the Retreat.

This Retreat is co-sponsored by the Office of the Provost and the Center for Innovation in Teaching & Learning.

Special Acknowledgement to the Faculty Retreat Committee: Gretchen Adams, Robert Baird, Michel Bellini, Dawn Bohn, Cheelan Bo-Linn, Shelly Schmidt, Brad Sutton, and Amy Woods.

And Special Thanks to Michelle Marquart, Kate LaBore, Jamie Nelson, and James Wentworth.

View a printable pdf of the schedule.